training run #419

Posted on

Saturday 31 March, 05:11 (yes, really!)

Overcast and breezy, 9C.  Started out early as we have a lot to do later in the day and I wanted to try to get 20 miles in.  Started out at an easy pace, and I couldn’t see the Garmin in the dark anyway to check splits.  As it got lighter I could see it was a slow pace but didn’t speed up to save energy for later.  Carried 3 packs of jelly babies, 4 gels and 500ml water, and got through them all gradually through the run.  Had the usual calf niggles but nothing too serious and no new problems.  Did the same route as the 18 mile runs I’ve done recently, and added 2 loops of the northern lake to add 2 miles.  Had some drizzle on a couple of the RV laps, but not too heavy and it was refreshing.  I finished with a bit more energy than the 18 mile runs, because of the better pacing.  Could have carried on a bit, which is encouraging – after recent 18 milers I’d been spent.  Pleased that the HR stayed in the 140s most of the time.  This is the longest training run I’ve ever done, and is only bettered by the Paris and Rome marathons I’ve completed.  It really feels like I’m on track for the Manchester marathon, just need to stay injury-free for a few more weeks.

Distance:  32.3km
Time:  3:19:02
Avg HR:  143bpm
Avg pace:  6:10 min/km
Calories:  2148

Leave a Reply

