training run #507

Posted on Updated on

Monday 26 November, 05:59

Cool 8C, very wet underfoot after heavy overnight rain. Went for my usual 7 mile run after a runless week. Work, weather and family created a difficult schedule last week so I rested.

Felt OK today, and had little idea of my actual pace in the dark and heavily-puddled Rother Valley. Towards the end of the first lap I saw another runner ahead and used them as a target, but they branched off. Then on the second lap at about 9km a sudden, awful cramp grabbed my left calf. I stopped, stretched and walked, and gingerly got a bit of a jog/hobble on. The cramp eased slightly but continued all the way home. More stretching and it would not go completely. Still feeling it at work as I type this. A long walk at lunchtime helped me to get a near-normal walk but it’s still there.

Looking at my time/pace, I was probably going too fast, but by 9km I was well warmed up. If it hadn’t been for the cramp I could have been within a minute of my PB.

Distance: 11.43km
Time: 1:06:11
Avg HR: 153bpm
Avg pace: 5:48 min/km
Calories: 802

Leave a Reply

