training run #552

Posted on

Saturday 23 February, 08:26

Cold, 0C, high grey cloud with the sun trying to peep through.  A chill breeze from the north.  Went for the usual 13 mile route.  Tried to do the same sort of pace I do for a 7 mile run, difficult with the hills on this route but I felt good and pressed on.  By the time I was re-entering Rother Valley I knew I was on a good pace and I cruised around the park still with plenty of bounce in my stride.  Carried 2 gels and 500ml water and used it all.  Felt right leg niggle a bit but hardly any other niggles.  Feels like my winter training is paying off 🙂

I’ve checked through past records and as far as I can see this is a clear PB for this 13 mile route, and also looks like my fastest half to date.  Run #378 in Jan 2012 on this route was 2:03:10.  The Central Lancs Half in that same month is my best race half at 1:58:38, which was just better than last Sunday’s run on this route at 1:58:42.  Really pleased with the time today, average pace, and how strong I felt throughout.  I had good form and ran mostly landing on the balls of my feet, giving me a good spring.

Distance:  21.06km
Time:  1:55:38 (THREE minutes off my PB!)
Avg HR:  149bpm
Avg pace:  5:30 min/km
Calories:  1455
New trainers

One thought on “training run #552

    wn6jeff said:
    February 23, 2013 at 2:18 pm

    Great time Steve!

Leave a Reply

