training run #568

Posted on

Sunday 24 March, 06:37

Freezing cold, -3C, and a chill wind.  After a couple of days of heavy snowfall and cold temperatures I wondered if I’d get in a long run this weekend.  In the end I managed 18 miles 🙂

I wrapped up well with three layers and determined just to get around safely, doing only 13 miles if need be.  The side roads on the estate were very slippery and when I got to RV the path alternated between sheet ice and very uneven footsteps in frozen snow, likely to turn my ankle if I wasn’t careful.

After exiting RV I stuck to the side of the road as the paths were bad.  I followed the usual route through Killamarsh to Woodall and Harthill (there were 4 foot snowdrifts alongside the road at Harthill!) and as I approached Kiveton I decided to run straight on to Todwick crossroads rather than turn left to Wales / Ka China restaurant.  I’d avoid returning to RV and pick a road route instead.

At Todwick crossroads I turned left through the roadworks and crossed over the M1, then turned right to Aston / Swallownest.  I ran back towards Crystal Peaks, going straight on at Northern Foods and past the Police station, crossed the tram tracks and followed Moss Way to the end, turned left and ran past the tram terminus.  I carried on, turning left to go alongside Holbrook Industrial Estate, turned left at Grant & McAllin and right along the Avenue.  It probably looks like a big circular loop of a route on a map.

I carried 500ml water and 3 gels and used the lot.  No major niggles.  There were a lot more hills on this route, compared to the flat of RV where I usually do the additional laps.  But I felt OK and finished tired but not entirely shattered.   I did a similar overall time to last weekend but one mile less.  A great run, andjust relieved to avoid injury.

Distance:  28.93km
Time:  2:47:56      (about 2:03:13 at 21.1km/13 miles)
Avg HR: 147bpm
Avg pace:  5:48 min/km
Calories: 2042
New trainers

Leave a Reply

