training run #572

Posted on Updated on

Sunday 31 March, 07:42

Cold and frosty to start, at least -1C and probably lower.  Intended to do a 20 mile run today using the same route as last Sunday but carrying on at High Moor to go past Pebley Reservoir before turning left to go through Harthill.  Carried 500ml water and 3 lemon and lime gels.  Amazon sent me the wrong flavour – but I like them, fortunately.

Felt good early on and tried to keep to a sensible pace.  The sun came out and I think the temp had climbed up to 3C or 4C by the end.  The route has lots of ups and downs so it is more challenging than the flat of RV.  At 16/17 miles my legs started to feel a bit heavy, but I finished off the last of my water and I got a bit of strength and bounce back.  Almost no niggles to speak of.  With the sun out and just a light breeze it was perfect weather conditions and I enjoyed completing this long run.  Didn’t have a lot left at the end, but it gives me confidence for the marathon.

Distance:  32.38km
Time:  3:05:42
Avg HR:  146bpm
Avg pace:  5:44 min/km
Calories:  2251
New trainers

Leave a Reply

