new trainers

Posted on Updated on

Friday 12 February I paid a visit to Sweatshop to get some new trainers.  My current pair of Asics Gel Cumulus are 51 weeks old, I did my first run in them on 17th Feb 2015 and just haven’t had time and/or money to replace them, until now.  

Asics Gel Cumulus when new
current trainers when they were new
current trainers -as they are now
current trainers, after 51 weeks and 1131 running miles

I asked for gait analysis and the sales chap did the works.  I do doubt the accuracy of treadmill tests though, as I so rarely use a treadmill I’m sure my running style is affected by my trying not to fall off the machine.  Apparently, my left ankle rotates inwards ever so slightly and I opted for some custom insoles and neutral cushioned trainers.  I usually have neutral trainers and as I’m 8 weeks away from a marathon I judged that I’d not try anything too different.

I tried Brooks, Saucony and Asics trainers and, after 7 years of wearing Asics thought I’d have a try with a pair of Brooks Ghost shoes.

My new trainers - Brooks Ghost
my new trainers -Brooks Ghost

I’m determined to be more sensible and retire running shoes earlier in future.  If these Brooks are OK I will buy another pair and plan ahead. I’ve got an important (to me) race in November ’16 and I have to keep injury free for that.

Leave a Reply

