training run #1041

Posted on Updated on

Sunday 14 February, 07:41

1C, a cold northerly wind, sunrise and blue skies.  Went for a 16 mile run.  I took a big chance and wore my new Brooks Ghost trainers for this run.  I know I should break them in gradually so my feet/legs get used to them on shorter runs, but my current trainers are worn out, expired.  They felt comfortable and I enjoyed a lot of light forefoot running.  I hardly noticed my right heel at all and my already-blistered instep didn’t trouble my running style.  I had 500ml water and 2 gels.  It was lovely and sunny but bitterly cold when in the wind.  

About 18km, when passing through Wales and heading back down into Rother Valley, I felt a bit odd.  I got a sort of fuzzy head and though running downhill my legs were very heavy.  I put it down to low glucose and eased off until the gel I had at 17km hit my system.  I returned to normal on the long winding road into RV and finished fine, tired but OK.

My opinion on the new trainers is; my calves feel they’ve worked differently today but they’re not at all stiff.  My left shin niggle was non-existent and my right heel is much better post-run than usual.  My left instep blistered slightly but not at all bad for the long distance. I think the Brooks are going to be OK for me, hopefully.

Distance:  25.84km

Time:  2:34:30

Avg HR:  143bpm

Avg pace:  5:59 min/km

Calories:  1775

Brooks Ghost *new trainers*

Wildlife:  1 peacock

3 thoughts on “training run #1041

    my26pointtwo said:
    February 15, 2016 at 9:16 am

    I have brooks Pureflow. Apparently different heel to toe drop to my more built up Adidas. Best running shoes I have used and zero injuries whilst using them. Good luck.

      s20steve responded:
      February 15, 2016 at 9:20 am

      Cheers, I’m liking Brooks Ghost so far 🙂

    usabaker said:
    February 15, 2016 at 4:50 pm

    My Brooks Ravenna’s are nearly at 300 miles so I’d better start looking for a pair. Your Ghost sound great but I just looked it up and its a Neutral runner 😦 love your report on them never the less 🙂

Leave a Reply

