training run #1087

Posted on

Sunday 1 May, 07:39

4C rising to 10C, breezy with high cloud and some sun.  Went for a 15 mile run.  Had a gel before starting (no breakfast), then at 7km, 14km and 19km with 500ml water.  Ran by feeling rather than Garmin, kept it to a comfortable pace.  Returning around RV I noted my legs starting to feel tired and heavy, as I reached the far end of the northern lake.  A few metres further on I heard another runner behind, breathing heavily and very gradually closing on me.  I switched on and picked up the pace, and heard the runner trying to keep up.  By now I was springing off my forefoot in a relaxed sprint, and pulled away, keeping it up until the exit to the park about 1km further on.  I was effectively adding an interval sprint at 14 miles 🙂 Didn’t know my legs had that left and it shows the power of mind over muscle.

Distance:  24.32km
Time:  2:20:40
Avg HR:  150bpm
Avg pace:  5:47 min/km
Calories:  1744
Brooks Ghost trainers

Leave a Reply

