training run #1275

Posted on

8C to 10C, cool, rain just clearing away to sunshine.  An 11 mile run along Froggatt and Curbar Edge, back to Fox House.  Didn’t feel especially strong, just ‘OK’.  A chill wind was blowing the rain clouds away, so needed Salomon jacket.  

In the second mile I descended a steep valley and went to cross a small stream.  I must have miscalculated the friction coefficient because my maths worked out at: wet trainers + damp rock = steve in stream + loud expletives echoing around the valley


Damage to my pride and shin as I ended up on my left side in the stream.  It happened in slow motion and I was really surprised the big flat rock was that slippy. Found out much later as I started the car and looked in the mirror that I’d also scraped my chin.


It might have been the adrenaline but I seemed to be able to keep going for longer through the next 9 miles, only walking here and there on the steepest bits.  Didn’t need to navigate with map at all, I know this route now.  

I’d had a gel as I set off and one at 9 miles (I’d forgotten to have it earlier). Drank 500ml water.  It felt like I was a bit fitter than last week, and hardly noticed right foot soreness at all, just at 4 miles and only very dull then.  The sun came out and wind was less chilling, started to warm up a bit too much on the return leg.

I knew I was going to be faster than last weekend but didn’t look at my watch till the finish.  In summary I knocked over 10 minutes off last weekend’s time, that’s a minute per mile quicker.  And I also of course knocked off a bit of skin off leg and face 🙂

Pleased to get round in a decent time (for me), feeling stronger, and avoided serious injury.

Distance:  10.95 miles

Time:  1:51:46

Avg HR:  143bpm

Avg pace:  10:12 minutes/mile

Calories:  1295

Elevation gain:  1241ft

Trainers:  Brooks Cascadia

Wildlife:  2 squirrels, 1 hare/rabbit, 4 highland coo (scary)

Leave a Reply

