White Peak trail run – 21 May 2017

Posted on Updated on

Ran the White Peak trail run with my brother Jeff.  His first ever trail run, and only my second after doing the Tigers Todger fell face recently.  Arrived early at Ashbourne to get on street free car parking and have a look around.  Registered and picked up my dibber, everyone was really friendly.

Our start time was 09:30, so we took our time getting ready.  It was bright and sunny, around 10-12C, and expected to get warmer so slapped some sun cream on the old solar panel.  Mandatory kit was just a windproof jacket, and the usual phone/drink/food.  Setting off we were planning to do an easy pace.  But I tended to push on a bit, especially on the gentle inclines to move past a few other runners.  I was getting competitive again!

WhitePeaks210517
smiled for the photographer

I was enjoying the up- and down-hills and pushing on a bit, Jeff being less used to running on uneven terrain was a bit more cautious, understandably.  We walked up the really steep hill, zig-zagging up the hillside, incredible.  Then after the feed point there were long stretches of fairly flat and straight Tissington Trail. Jeff excelled here, getting into a rhythm and I hung on as my legs were getting fatigued.  The mix of flat trail and hills/descents meant Jeff and I complemented each other, it was really good.

Approaching the finish we entered the tunnel for a second time and it was surreal, after a few hours in the sunshine my eyes just did not adjust and it was eerie.  A runner was a few yards behind us, and we both picked up the pace.  By the last 50 yards of the tunnel I was sprinting flat out and before the finish line Jeff sprinted ahead of me.  We both got the exact same finish time, finishing joint 75th out of 172 runners.  Really pleased with that and got a silver certificate for the time.  A great introduction to trail running and can’t wait to do more.

Right heel was a bit sore afterwards, I stretched and foam rollered my calves and that has helped.  Foot soreness wasn’t an issue in the race, just slightly tender later and I’ll look after it with ice and rolling a golf ball.

Stats were messed up by the Fitbit GPS not starting straight away and then the tunnel. But here they are:

Distance:  16 miles (official); Fitbit 15.8 miles

Time:  2:37:54 (official); Fitbit 2:38:01

Avg HR:  148bpm

Avg pace:  10:00 min/mile

Calories:  1925

Trainers:  Brooks Cascadia

Leave a Reply

