training run #1308

Posted on

Sunday 16 July, 07:15

14C, overcast and drizzly.  A 7 mile run on the checkpoint 7 to checkpoint 9 loop I’ve done before.  It was 18C at home and forecast sunny and getting wamer, but arriving at Fox House there was low cloud, drizzle and a forecast for more of the same.  Probably overdressed changing to a long sleeved top.

Thought I’d follow one of the recce loops again and still got lost at one point where high ferns and heather moorland obscured any obvious trail path.  In spite of this, I was 25 minutes quicker than last time I did this route (run #1302) and ran 0.75 miles less.

Felt strong, ran more of the uphills and enjoyed it.  Drank 500ml water and had a gel at home, another at 3 miles.

Wore my new inov-8 x-claw 275 trainers today.  Thought I’d better break them in and expected that a few rainy days may have left softer ground.  The trainers were great, nice and lightweight, lovely feeling running on grass and soil, no problem on some of the rocky paths.  Today the ground wasn’t as soft / muddy as I’d expected.  Feet still got wet though due to wet grass and foliage.

It is 16 weeks to the Indianapolis Marathon, so I’ll start following a training schedule.  Have downloaded one from the marathon website and it seems OK, but I’ll not be sticking religiously to any plan, I need to build good fitness and mileage and accommodate a few races as well.  Would be nice to get under 4 hours – apparently it’s a fairly flat course – but my main concern is managing niggles and getting to the start line able to finish the course.

Distance:  6.98 miles

Time:  1:21:33

Avg pace:  11:24 min/mile

Calories:  835

Elevation gain:  1003ft

Trainers:  Inov-8 x-claw 275

Wildlife:  1 squirrel

Leave a Reply

