training run #1327

Posted on

Sunday 13 August, 07:36

9C, cool, sunny, breezy.  An 8.6 mile run from Fox House.  Training plan called for an 8 mile run, easy pace, so I mapped out a 7.5 mile loop taking in the two parts of the Exterminator I was trying to nail down.  On the plan this looks like weekly mileage is pegged to give me a recovery week, hence just 8 miles for the long run.

The route:  Fox House, up Houndkirk Road then turn left where it reaches the Exterminator route towards Burbage Edge. Over the edge and I found and followed the route down, across the path to the stone bridge via the ferns.  Along the Burbage path to the road, then on to The Surprise.  Over the wall and follow the route to CP8 Padley Gorge.  Tricky route to find the right crossing, over Burbage Brook and up the other side.  

There’s a right turn just there, down to the bridge…

Onto the Longshaw Estate and I used photos to find my way across – eventually!! Wandered through a wood in error and backtracked to make sure I found the best route. 

THAT’S the route up into Longshaw…head for the middle tree
Then I went along Stony Ridge Road, top side of Blacka Moor to Piper’s Gate, and up over Houndkirk Moor to the road, returning to Fox House.  Saw a young deer, solo, in the next field.

A young deer

Kept the pace easy, walked a lot, stopped and took lots of photos. I wasn’t clock watching or chasing a time.

Had 500ml water and 1 powerball. Slight heel niggle towards the end, and could feel slight soreness in right foot too.  Think I now have the whole Exterminator route logged in my mind (and some photos). Objective accomplished.

A large fungi, my foot in pic for scale

Distance:  8.55 miles

Time:  2:18:06

Avg pace:  13:36 min/mile

Calories:  982

Elevation gain:  1186ft

Trainers:  Brooks Cascadia

Wildlife:  1 deer, and sheep/cows obviously

Leave a Reply

