Day: December 16, 2017

training run #1390

Posted on

Saturday 16 December, 07:48

0C, cold and icy. A 9.6 mile run on the parts of the Exterminator course I didn’t do last weekend. Started at Fox House and picked up the route beneath Burbage Edge. Then Higger Tor, Stanage Edge, Hathersage, Mitchell Field, Padley Pump Station, across Longshaw and back to the car.

Wrapped up well. Felt right heel throughout but it didn’t slow me. Lots of ice and a few inches of snow.

Thought I’d got the feel of the snow and part-frozen soil but heading up to Carl Wark I was surprised when I stepped 12 inches deep through the snow into thick mud. Scraped right shin extracting myself.

Got a great view of the sunrise climbing up Higger Tor.

Sunrise viewed from Higger Tor

Getting up onto Stanage Edge I saw a couple sat on an outcrop watching the sunrise. As I got on top I shouted ‘Morning’ and waved, and they waved back. The woman shouted it was her birthday and did I want a cake? I thought why not, and enjoyed a small cupcake, thanked them. A nice memory.

I had a banana before running, 2 gels and a Clif Bar during the run, with 400ml water.

I nearly slipped over on the descent to Hathersage, lots of water running off the fields across the road had frozen.

Crossing and climbing Mitchell Field light snow started, carried on getting more and more.

As I’d expected, the conditions slowed me a lot, and I was walking a fair bit of the climbs.

Approaching the end, the last gate I had to pass through, I took a more direct approach instead of staying in the compacted footprints gently circling to the gate. I learned why when I sank 6 inches into mud without warning. Very cold and muddy feet for the last quarter mile.

A good workout, enjoyed it.

Distance: 9.65 miles

Time: 2:23:21

Avg pace: 14:11 min/mile

Calories: 1066

Ascent: 1468ft

Trainers: inov-8 x-claw 275